Game Dev Feb. Texture makin

Hello guys

This week I’ve been focusing on making a tile that can be used as a ground layer on any level of the game. The idea with the tile is to make it connect with itself in any direction.
SpriteCoral128
The making of the Stone tile works like you create a few lesser pebbles with reasonable detailed, for this tile I aimed to create something in our aimed art style. One thing that could be done to the existing picture is to simplify the in the values to obtain the want feeling. The important thing when using this technique is to make the small pebbles really easy, the pebble shall not draw to much attention in itself.

Anyhow, with the small pebbles made I started duplicating them and turning each so they won’t feel repeated.

With the canvas filled with pebble I used to offset function to check how the texture worked out, editing it so it could connect with itself in any direction.

This technique is great way to make textures that wants a feeling of being a more cartoon and simple art style. Then it’s a matter of how detailed the first part is. If it stands out to much it’ll draw attention and then it’ll easy give out how it was made. Made right this technique is really valuable to make great textures.

Rocks

I am certain that it can be used for other things as well as making pebbles, I’ve learned the technique from a hand painted grass texture tutorial. I’ll post the link down below.

This tile was originally set out to be the underwater mountain rock but looking at it makes it more suitable for corals or lesser rocks. I’ve been trying to find a reliable way to make a solid rock that can be repeated and fits into the world that we’re making.

I am happy how the Rock tile ended upp when it was done, what needs to be done now is to make a couple of tiles that shall be used as corners for the first tile. Making them means that the edges of each tile needs to be transparent so it can fit into the game world without any sharp edges.

For the next week I’ll be focusing on sound and design, I have been talking with people on the school and will be given accses to a sound room, giving me time to make all the sound for the game. The design part will be most focused on the design document and level design.

Over and out
Adam

Oh yeah. The link:

I hope it’ll help you out.

One comment

  1. Hi Adam.
    I think the tile looks great and I like how you described how you made it and how to do so it’s won’t feel like the pebbles are being repeated even though they are. And the offset function is really good for checking if it’s is repeatable. I think it’s very well done making a tile repeatable with that much detail and pebbles.
    What I think is missing is a bigger picture were you show the tile being repeated. That would really show that you have succeeded with the task and the reader won’t have to look really closely at your tile just to see if it really is able to be repeated. I would also have liked it if you had told more specifically what the tile is going to be used for.
    I think it’s a good idea that you could use the pebbles to make corals or other things as it is an underwater game.
    I like the way you make your blog post, it’s not just big walls of texts. There is some picture in between and you have several sections so it makes it easier to read.
    I wish you good luck on the underwater rocks and the sound effects you are going to make. I will look forward to see what you accomplish.

Leave a comment